Curriculum for Excellence

The curriculum framework for all Scottish educational establishments from ages 3-18, is called the Curriculum for Excellence. The aims of this curriculum are as follows:
• That every child should know that they are valued and will be supported to become a successful learner, an effective contributor, a confident, enterprising individual and a responsible citizen.
• That every child should experience a broad curriculum which has depth and which challenges everyone to achieve all they can. They should develop skills for life and skills for work, with a major focus on literacy and numeracy.

Curriculum Levels

The experiences and outcomes under a Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase. These levels are:
Early Level: The pre-school years and Primary 1, or later for some.
First Level: To the end of P.4 but earlier for some.
Second Level: To the end of P.7, but earlier for some.
Third and Fourth: S.1 to S.3, but earlier for some.
Senior Phase: S.4 to S.6 and college/or other means of study.

All pupils should experience a balanced curriculum in their seven years in primary school.
The curriculum should also offer: challenge and enjoyment, breadth, progression, depth, personalisation and choice, coherence and relevance.

Organisation of the Curriculum

The curriculum is now organised under eight headings, but every effort is made to link areas of the curriculum together to make learning more real and relevant.
The eight areas are: Languages, Mathematics, Health and Well Being, Social Studies, Technologies, Expressive Arts, Religious and Moral Education and Science.

In the next few pages we have a brief description of each area. Central to all areas of the curriculum is the methodology used by the teacher to actively engage our pupils in their learning.

© 2010-2019 Inverclyde Education Services